future_gen_art_prizeThe fourth edition of the worldwide Future Generation Art Prize competition is open for entries.

The Future Generation Art Prize, established by the Victor Pinchuk Foundation in 2009, is a worldwide contemporary art prize created in order to discover, recognise and give long-term support to a future generation of artists. The prize aims to make a major contribution to the careers of younger artists involved in the dynamic cultural development of societies in transition, many of whom have found it difficult to get their voices heard.

All artists up to the age of 35, from all backgrounds and working in any medium, anywhere in the world, are encouraged to apply. In support of the application process, more than 600 correspondents all over the world will be nominating artists for the prize and over 50 global partner platforms will serve as ambassadors for the Future Generation Art Prize to encourage artists within their regions to apply.

The Main Prize will be awarded by an international jury and will total US $100,000, split between $60,000 in cash and $40,000 worth of investment in the production of a new work. In addition, US $20,000 will be awarded to up to five Special Prize winners, chosen by the jury. A Public Choice winner will be selected through online voting and announced at the award ceremony.

An exhibition of the works of up to 20 shortlisted artists will be shown in Kiev at the PinchukArtCentre from February 2017 to April 2017. The exhibition will go on show at the Venice Biennale in May 2017, presenting the work of all of the shortlisted artists to a broad international audience.

To apply online, please click here

The deadline for applications is 11 September 2016.

The shortlisted projects will be unveiled on 10 October 2016, and the winner will be announced at an award ceremony in Kiev in April 2017.

For more information, please click here

To read the rules on participation, please click here

65 artists have been showcased at past editions of the Future Generation Art Prize, hailing from all continents and over 30 countries, including Iran, Israel, Lebanon and Turkey. Past Main Prize winners include Cinthia Marcelle from Brazil, Lynette Yiadom-Boakye from the UK, Nástio Mosquito from Angola and Carlos Motta from Colombia.

Content produced in collaboration with Cineuropa